top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Breuer

Weekend Update Part 1: Jungle Biking!

Singapore Fact of the Day: There is only one commonly-found monkey species in Singapore, and that is the long-tailed macaque. There are about 1,500 in their population here, mostly residing on the fringes of Singapore in the jungles and islands nearby. They are more humanlike than most monkey species, having been known to use stone tools to aid in foraging and have been known to use human hair as dental floss! The more you know!


I don't think I need to write to much about this. For most of the day, we went to an island off of Changi village and biked through the jungle. We got to see real wildlife, including monitor lizards, crabs, wild boars, and monkeys. There were so. many. MONKEYS!


To be honest, this might have been one of the coolest things I've ever gotten to do in my life. When we finished our 2-3 hour trip, I was so exhausted that I almost had heat stroke. People got a little worried for me, to be honest. But it was so worth it. Singapore is a beautiful place, including its wildlife!



Riding the ferry to the island!




AND NOW FOR MONKEYS!



First monkey sighting




I also saw a wild boar!! He definitely stole that watermelon from a family's picnic basket. Not shown, but a monkey snuck it from under him and climbed a tree with half an eaten watermelon.






After I recovered from my heat stroke, we got to relax and eventually did chores and laundry. But at the nearby hawker stand where we had dinner, I got to try a "century egg" for the first time...and probably the last. Here's a video of my reaction:


Part 2 will talk about what I did Sunday, which was a quite eventful day as well.


Seriously guys, Singapore is incredible.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page