top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Breuer

Goodbye for Now, But Not Forever...

Singapore Fact of Day: Not only are the colossal solar-powered ‘supertrees’ at Singapore’s Garden’s on the Bay a truly impressive sight in themselves, but the gardens are also home to the world’s tallest indoor waterfall. Towering at a remarkable height of 35 meters high, the waters cascade down lush, vertical greenery and are a beautiful sight to behold.


Today was our final day in Singapore. I can't believe the trip has finished already - it all happened so quickly!


Our final museum visit was to the Red Dot Design Museum. They had a really cool gift shop in the front with neat toys and contraptions with unique design elements. The museum portion was both interesting and unique. They had a fairly large collection of semi-recent to brand new technology on display. While that wouldn't typically be interesting to look at in a museum, it was displayed and explained in a way that talked more about why it has changed life and also about interesting features that weren't as well known.



One of my favorite parts of the museum was measuring daily life for different kinds of people. They used a rectangle to represent a typical day for each person, and different chunks of color represented what they did during that time!


After the museum, we travelled to the Gardens by the Bay, where we both had our "farewell dinner" and got to check out the Flower Dome and Cloud Forest. On the way there, I saw one of the coolest fountains ever! It was in a glass bowl, and the water created a whirlpool inside!




Our farewell dinner was lovely, and located inside the flower garden, so the ambiance was beautiful. Here's some pictures of just some of the food I got to have (which included the best gnocchi I've ever had in my life)




Both the Flower Dome and the Cloud Forest were really amazing to look at. It wasn't as exciting as I would have liked, but not because it wasn't amazing. It was so overcrowded in most places that it was very difficult to enjoy. Nonetheless, I still got to take some pretty photos despite the selfie-obsessed tourists surrounding me at all points. The coolest part of the Flower Dome was the animal sculptures made from wood surrounding the gardens. The Cloud Forest was much more calm but equally serene, with the highest indoor waterfall in the world.










After that, we said goodbye to our group, since it was our last planned event of the trip.


The finish off the trip to Singapore, I went with some of my animation friends to ILM/LucasArts building called the SandCrawler. It was incredibly beautiful, from what I could see. They had a neat public garden on the inner portion of the building's exterior, and a famous Yoda statue stands over it to watch over the gardens.




Getting to visit one of the biggest animation studios in the world was the perfect way to finish off this trip. I still am in shock that I was able to get the opportunity to even get to visit Singapore, yet alone experience so much of what this amazing country has to offer both tourists and artists. I'm not sure if I would able to permanently live there, but the culture is so inviting that it's impossible to not want to come back. I could definitely see myself taking a job here for a couple years, given the opportunity.


I honestly look forward to being able to come back and revisit the amazing food, cultural melting pot and incredible nature that encompasses the city. If anyone has the opportunity to visit, I strongly encourage you to DO IT.


Bye for now, Singapore, but this is not goodbye forever.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page