top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRyan Breuer

Design Gallery and Food!

Fun Singapore fact of the day: Nearly 9 out of 10 Singaporeans live in public housing. Consequently, homelessness in Singapore is incredibly low to virtually nonexistent! If anyone is found homeless at all, they are still known to have jobs and even own a flat. Most of the time, homeless are on the streets for having problems with co-tenants or having marital problems. The more you know!


Let me start out by saying today was not as eventful as the last.


While I did have fun for the first part of the day, I got sick and had to go back to the hotel for a while to recuperate. However, I was able to visit a design gallery about the last 50 years of design in Singapore, and it was really cool to see the development of how clothes, appliances, and architecture has changed.





There was also another exhibit called Wicked Problems, Wicked Solutions. In this small gallery, we were shown different problems different parts of the world faced, including the US, and how "solutions" were brainstormed through design. For example, someone created a visual representation for how LGBTQ+ friendly different countries around the world were. They created a graph in the design of the rainbow flag to determine if certain aspects of their culture were friendly to gay and queer communities. I was also shocked to see a video talking about the March for Our Lives movement that happened last year after a school shooting. It was incredible to see the impact of something I perceived as isolated within our country, but talked about around the world as a real problem.


The food today was also INSANE. For breakfast, I had the best pancakes I've ever had in my life. They were matcha pancakes with red bean paste, mochi, ice cream, and black honey. For lunch, I had a noodle soup set that contained an assortment of different meats, including prawn, chicken, some sort of fish, tofu, and a few others I couldn't quite name. Finally, I had dumplings at a nice restaurant for dinner. That was probably also the best dumplings I've ever had too, by the way.






Tomorrow might be hard to take a lot of pictures, but we will be biking through the jungle, and possibly visiting the ocean. Can't wait to sweat profusely tomorrow, but it will be so much fun!


Here's to hoping I don't get sick tomorrow, I've been looking forward to this all week!


-Ryan

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page